Thomas Wunsch, Untitled, from the series CODE  © Thomas Wunsch

CODE
Thomas Wunsch
Open 24/7
25 Junie - 9 September 2021

Opening: Friday, 25 June 2021 from 7pm
Introduction: Curator Florian Koch

The Wiesbaden-based photographer went to the USA at the age of 17, where he became a member of the Kodak Young Photographers League. In 1980, he founded his own photo studio in Hamburg and devoted himself to commercial photography with a focus on fashion, still life and portraits (e.g. with shots of Yoko Ono, Ai Weiwei, Sting and the Dalai Lama). In 1984 Wunsch moved to the USA and worked as a stills photographer in a film production studio for many years. In 2001, he began working with the Munich record label ECM, which has since used his photographs for CD cover photos. Exhibitions in Europe, USA, China, Japan, Canada and South Korea since 2005.

THOMAS WUNSCH: CODE

In Thomas Wunsch's works, the specific elements of the urban context are transformed into pure abstraction. The photo artist has known how to transform his subjects into magical, aesthetically attractive images for many years. His works were once described as artful stagings of meditation landscapes. He is particularly interested in structures that are a mesh of colour transitions and interconnections, which he finds in metropolises such as New York, London and Beijing. But it is only through his special digital processing on the computer that his photographs find their artistic dimension. In his current series CODE, typo elements or numbers can be seen in addition to the abstraction. These fragments of writing elude decoding by the viewer and bring about an additional mystification of his photographs.


The Frankfurt KunstSäule, a project by Florian Koch and Daniel Hartlaub, shows three temporary exhibitions a year in the public space - at the corner of Brückenstraße / Gutzkowstraße in Sachsenhausen.

More information:

www.frankfurter-kunstsaeule.de
www.instagram.com/frankfurter_kunstsaeule
www.facebook.com/frankfurterkunstsaeule.de

Supported by the Cultural Office Frankfurt and the Local Council 5.

Many thanks to the company Ströer for the column and to the Grünflächenamt Frankfurt.

DIE FRANKFURTER KUNSTSÄULE
At the Brückenstraße Playground
(Brückenstraße / Gutzkowstraße)
In Frankfurt-Sachsenhausen

Opening hours
Open 24/7

Thomas Wunsch, Untitled, aus der Serie CODE  © Thomas Wunsch

CODE
Thomas Wunsch
24 Stunden täglich geöffnet
vom 25. Juni bis zum 9. September 2021

Vernissage: Freitag, 25. Juni 2021 ab 19 Uhr
Einführung: Kurator Florian Koch

Der Wiesbadener Fotograf ging mit 17 Jahren in die USA, wo er Mitglied in der Kodak Young Photographers League wurde. 1980 gründete er ein eigenes Fotostudio in Hamburg und widmete sich der kommerziellen Fotografie mit den Schwerpunkten Mode, Still Life und Portrait (z.B. mit Aufnahmen von Yoko Ono, Ai Weiwei, Sting und dem Dalai Lama). 1984 übersiedelte Wunsch in die USA und arbeitete viele Jahre als Standfotograf in einem Filmproduktionsstudio. 2001 begann die Zusammenarbeit mit dem Münchener Plattenlabel ECM, das seine Fotografien seitdem für CD-Coverfotos verwendet. Seit 2005 Ausstellungen in Europa, USA, China, Japan, Kanada und Südkorea.

THOMAS WUNSCH: CODE

Konkretes aus dem urbanen Kontext wird in den Arbeiten von Thomas Wunsch zu reiner Abstraktion. Der Fotokünstler versteht es seit vielen Jahren, seine Sujets in magische, ästhetisch attraktive Bilder zu transformieren. Seine Arbeiten wurden einmal als kunstvolle Inszenierung von Meditations­landschaften bezeichnet. Ihn interessieren in seiner Arbeit besonders solche Strukturen, die ein Geflecht aus Farbflüssen, Passagen, Übergängen und Verzahnungen sind und die er in Metropolen wie New York, London und Peking findet. Aber erst durch seine spezielle digitale Bearbeitung am Computer­ finden seine Fotografien ihre künstlerische Dimension. In seiner aktuellen Serie CODE sind zusätzlich zur Abstraktion noch Typo-Elemente oder Zahlen zu sehen. Diese Schriftfragmente entziehen sich der Dekodierung durch den Betrachter und bewirken eine zusätzliche Mystifizierung seiner Fotografien.


Die Frankfurter KunstSäule, ein Projekt von Florian Koch und Daniel Hartlaub, zeigt im öffentlichen Raum – an der Ecke Brückenstraße / Gutzkowstraße in Sachsenhausen – drei Wechselausstellungen im Jahr.

Mehr Informationen:

www.frankfurter-kunstsaeule.de
www.instagram.com/frankfurter_kunstsaeule
www.facebook.com/frankfurterkunstsaeule.de

Gefördert vom Kulturamt Frankfurt und vom Ortsbeirat 5.

Vielen Dank an die Firma Ströer für die Säule und an das Grünflächenamt Frankfurt.

 

DIE FRANKFURTER KUNSTSÄULE
Am Brückenstraßen-Spielplatz
(Brückenstraße / Ecke Gutzkowstraße)
In Frankfurt-Sachsenhausen
 

Öffnungszeiten
24 Stunden täglich geöffnet