©️ Teboho Edkins

©️ Teboho Edkins

©️ Teboho Edkins

©️ Teboho Edkins

In-between China and Africa 
Teboho Edkins
From July

“Days of Canibals” by Teboho Edkins premiered at the Berlinale last year. In impressive scenes, the film allows insights into the dismal life of Chinese immigrants in the African country of Lesotho. The film makes the deep ideological, financial and cultural divide between the inhabitants and the immigrants from China painfully clear by getting close to the protagonists 'on both sides'. 
Edkins' exhibition edition of this film, shortened to about 30 minutes, is now on view for the first time.

The film is complemented by two other short films by the South African artist. Both deal with the life circumstances of adolescent children in Lesotho. “Initiation” deals with the initiation rites in the mountains of Lesotho, which last about five months and which not all children survive. In the film “Orphanage”, local orphans endure the rigours of a Buddhist monastery run by missionary Taiwanese in Lesotho.

Raised in Lesotho, Teboho Edkins (* 1980, USA) studied art in Cape Town and film in Lille and Berlin. Almost all of his films have been shown at the most renowned international festivals and have won numerous awards. He lives and works in Berlin and Cape Town.

As an open air screening in the gallery courtyard from July. 
Please see the gallery homepage for dates. 

KAI MIDDENDORFF GALERIE
Niddastraße 84 Halle
60329 Frankfurt am Main

www.kaimiddendorff.de

Opening hours
Wed - Fri 2 - 6.30 PM
Sat 11.30 AM - 5 PM
Sun 3 - 5 PM

©️ Teboho Edkins

©️ Teboho Edkins

©️ Teboho Edkins

©️ Teboho Edkins

In-between China and Africa 
Teboho Edkins
Ab Juli

“Days of Canibals” von Teboho Edkins wurde auf der Berlinale im vergangene Jahr uraufgeführt. In eindrücklichen Szenen erlaubt der Film Einblicke in das triste Leben von chinesischen Einwanderern im afrikanischen Lesotho. Der Film macht die tiefe ideologische, finanzielle und kulturelle Kluft zwischen den Einwohnern und den Immigranten aus China durch die Nähe zu den Protagonisten ‘auf beiden Seiten’ schmerzlich deutlich. 
Edkins’ auf etwa 30 Minuten gekürzte Ausstellungs-Edition dieses Films ist jetzt erstmals zu sehen.

Der Film wird mit zwei weiteren Kurzfilmen des südafrikanischen Künstlers ergänzt. Beide handeln von Lebenssituationen heranwachsender Kinder in Lesotho. “Initiation” thematisiert die etwa fünf Monate andauernden Initiationsriten in den Bergen Lesothos, die nicht alle Kinder überleben. Im Film “Orphanage”  erdulden einheimische Waisenkinder die Strenge in einem von missionierenden Taiwanern in Lesotho geführten, buddhistischen Kloster. 

Aufgewachsen in Lesotho, studierte Teboho Edkins (* 1980, USA) Kunst in Kapstadt sowie Film in Lille und Berlin. Nahezu all seine Filme wurden auf den international renommiertesten Festivals gezeigt und vielfach ausgezeichnet. Er lebt und arbeitet in Berlin und Kapstadt.

Als Open Air Vorstellung im Hof der Galerie ab Juli. 
Bitte entnehmen Sie die Daten der Galerie-Homepage.

KAI MIDDENDORFF GALERIE
Niddastraße 84 Halle
60329 Frankfurt am Main

www.kaimiddendorff.de

Öffnungszeiten
Mi - Fr 14 - 18.30 Uhr
Sa 11.30 - 17 Uhr
So 15 - 17 Uhr